Review: Pulse- Patrick Carman

WARNING: This post does contain spoilers.

Pulse, Tremor, and Quake by Patrick Carman

2.5/5 stars

Pulse cover

With the help of her mysterious classmate Dylan Gilmore, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a “pulse,” and Dylan has the talent, too.

In riveting action scenes, Faith demonstrates her ability to use her pulse against a group of telekinesis masters who are so powerful they can flatten their enemies by uprooting streetlights, throwing boulders, and changing the course of a hurtling hammer so that it becomes a deadly weapon. But even with her unusual talent, the mind–and the heart–can be difficult to control. If Faith wants to join forces with Dylan and save the world, she’ll have to harness the power of both.

Patrick Carman’s Pulse trilogy is a stunning and epic triumph about the power of the mind–and of love.

Okay so I read this series a few weeks ago, about the middle of February, and I must say I wasn’t that pleased. I enjoyed the idea of Carman’s idea of being able to move things with the mind (who doesn’t?) but I didn’t like that he tried connecting the pulse to the actual body. Being a med student, I was excited to find out what Carman had planned for the second pulse, but then it just never happened. It talked about Faith discovering her second pulse and feeling it in her neck behind her first one, but it never explained how that worked, which was disappointing to me.

I also felt that Carman switched character views so frequently I couldn’t get attached to Faith until the last book. The point of views were so inconsistent I found myself being confused at frequent times. In one page I would be with Dylan and Faith during her training, and a few lines down I would being reading about Hawk doing some tech-geek things. Then before I knew it I was reading about Clara Quinn and all her evil thoughts. It got annoying I felt and I was never able to connect to Faith on the level I wanted to.

I also felt that Dylan and Faith’s relationship had no build up. They began with casting doe-eyes at each other while training and then all of a sudden they were in a relationship and completely in love with each other. If there is going to be a love connection in the book I want to be able to feel it and relate to it.

 

Well readers, that all for this series. Sorry I sound so negative about it, I was sad that this series was more of a disappointment. If you’ve read this series and agree or disagree with me, let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear your opinions!

Leave a Reply

